Cookies Notice

We use cookies to improve your experience, support logged-in activity and analyse our traffic. We also share information about your use of our site with our social media and analytics partners who may combine it with other information that you’ve provided to them or that they’ve collected from your use of their services. See our full privacy policy here.


National council

The NZSTI national council is responsible for the governance and management of the society. It maps out the society’s ongoing direction in addition to performing day-to-day management tasks, organising professional development events, lobbying and advising government organisations, representing members' interests, publishing news and representing New Zealand in the broader international arena as a member of FIT, the International Federation of Translators. Council members are elected for a one-year term at the annual AGM.


Regional branches

NZSTI regional branches have been established where there are enough members to warrant this. Each branch is administered by a locally elected committee which works under the umbrella of the national council and organises regular networking and professional development events for its members. Currently, there are regional branches in the three main centres of New Zealand: Auckland, Wellington and Canterbury (in Christchurch). The president of each of the three NZSTI branches is an ex-officio member of national council and forms the link between branch members and council.

All council members and branch committee members are volunteers who generously give their time and skills to serve the society. The current national council includes members from Auckland, Wellington, Christchurch, Waikato and Palmerston North and meets approximately every six weeks.


Council committees

Each NZSTI council member also serves on two or more committees. The presidents of each of the three NZSTI branches (Auckland, Wellington, Canterbury) are ex-officio members on the national council and form the link between branch members and council. Below are the current committees:

Committee Members
Professional Recognition Committee Isabelle Poff-Pencole (chair), Diana Renker, Alessandra Di Marco
Admin/IT Committee Diana Renker (chair), Isabelle Poff-Pencole, Karoline Spiessl
Professional Development Committee Alessandra Di Marco (chair), Isabelle Poff-Pencole, Agustina Marianacci, Sara Bollati
Communications & Marketing Committee Diana Renker (chair), Karoline Spiessl, Alessandra Di Marco
Komiti Māori Te Tumatakuru O’Connell
SLIANZ Margaret Picard (representative)
Conference Organising Committee Agustina Marianacci and Auckland branch committee
International Liaison Committee
Isabelle Poff-Pencole (chair), Diana Renker
Governance Committee Isabelle Poff-Pencole (chair), Diana Renker
Funding Committee Various
Membership Committee Various
Complaints and Disciplinary Committee Various


Council meeting dates 2023/2024

Council meetings are generally held at 7 pm on the first Monday of each month. Please note dates are subject to change around public holidays and NZSTI AGM/Conference.

2023: 4 September, 2 October, 6 November and 4 Dec
2024: 12 February, 11 March, 8 April, 6 May, 10 June, 8 July, 5 August and 2 September


Forgot password?
Create an Account