Report on the Wellington Branch AGM and 30 year celebration

30 year celebration cake

The Wellington Branch had its AGM on Friday 30th September 2016, as well as joining together to celebrate International Translator’s day and to celebrate the 30th anniversary of NZSTI.

Eighteen branch members, including founding members Patrick King, John Jamieson and Bill Ashwell were present.

At the AGM, the following officers and committee members were elected:

President: Olga Suvarova

Vice President: Cecilia Titulaer

Secretary: Brigette Holland

Treasurer: Olga Suvarova

Committee members:  Shirley Cormack, Ian Cormack, Guthrun Love, Patrick Geddes, Karl Wilson, Jean Anderson, Caro Miranda

Once the formal part of the AGM was finished, Patrick King kindly shared with the members present his recollections of the history of NZSTI since its beginnings in 1986 as well as providing some reflections on early translation work in New Zealand, especially with regard to the Maori language translators of the nineteenth century.

Founding members then cut a celebratory cake.

Founding member and NZSTI Fellow, Patrick King

NZSTI Member Login

Login to be able to use the forum and access member features


Thank you for your interest in NZSTI. New members are always welcome. For more information about membership and the application form click below.