The Council

The NZSTI national council is responsible for mapping out the ongoing direction of the society, as well as overseeing the day to day running of the society, lobbying and/or advising government organisations, publishing the journal, representing members' interests in disputes, and representing New Zealand in the broader international arena as a member of FIT, the International Federation of Translators.

The current national council includes members from Auckland, Wellington, Christchurch, Northland and Palmerston North, and meets approximately every six weeks. Each NZSTI Council member belongs to two or more sub-committees.

The NZSTI National Council:

President: Quintin Ridgeway (Wellington)
Vice President: Guthrun Love (Wellington)
Immediate Past President: Karl Wilson (Wellington)
Secretary: Karoline Spiessl (Northland)
Treasurer: Isabelle Poff-Pencole (Palmerston North)
Auckland Members: Sibylle Ferner, Annamaria Nagy
Wellington Members: Jayne Fox, Brigette Holland
Christchurch Members: Peter Tuffley, Hyden Toonen
Other Members: Henry Liu (Palmerston North)
Ex-Officio Members: 
Wellington Branch President
Auckland Branch President
Canterbury Branch President
SLIANZ Representative

Dr Olga Suvorova
Jaspreet Singh
Dr Peter Low
Daniel Hanks  


Sub-committees 2016/17:

Each NZSTI Council member belongs to two or more sub-committees covering the following areas of business:


Co-chairs: Karoline Spiessl, Jayne Fox; Peter Tuffley, Peter Low, Quintin Ridgeway, Guthrun Love, Isabelle Poff-Pencole
  Professional Recognition Chair: Henry Liu; Hyden Toonen, Brigette Holland, Isabelle Poff-Pencole
  Administration / IT Chair: Quintin Ridgeway; Karoline Spiessl; Jayne Fox
     Professional Development / Member Services Chair: Guthrun Love; Jayne Fox, Anika Burgess
  Komiti Maori Chair: Henry Liu; Isabelle Poff-Pencole
  Strategy 2025 Chair: Quintin Ridgeway; Annamaria Nagy, Karoline Spiessl, Jaspreet Singh
  Conference 2017 Co-chairs: Jaspreet Singh, Sibylle Ferner
  NZSTI Image Chair: Annamaria Nagy; Jayne Fox, Isabelle Poff-Pencole


NZSTI Member Login

Login to be able to use the forum and access member features


Thank you for your interest in NZSTI. New members are always welcome. For more information about membership and the application form click below.